September 7, 2023 PM BR

September 7, 2023 PM BR

On Visions, a Father, and a Cover Letter

·

7 min read

Hello friends,

My schedule has been out of sorts today. I was up until nearly sunrise working on a YT short for a resume review, slept as long as possible, and then pedaled the children to their learnings for the day. The rest of the day has been slower-paced. A failed nap, socials, and generally not being too productive.

However, I've had time to think and sort out my recent thoughts and found the breakthrough my brain has been working on! The best thing about this sense of clarity is it's not a hard reset, at all.

Going on Frodo quests, leaving the Shire for some far-off object is a fun distraction, but the victories are in the woods and tundras. I'm not off on a new quest. I've defined the work that needs to be done to get to my goal.

The work centers around securing a clear mind and consistent voice. The goal, merely creating an educational platform that's so much better than anything we have today that it renders education as we know it obsolete.

Nothing to it, right? But that's the stuff of shooting for the moon and striking or landing among stars. If I were anyone else and heard me spouting all these foundational plans out loud, I'd definitely write that guy off as out of his mind. And I'm dangerously close to the age of the old man with the impractical ideas that no one wants to hear about.

Eh, in a society focused on the young, the old do as they please.

Enough about that, though, there's plenty of time to develop articles on that subject.

Today, I'd like to focus on something sentimental. Something charming and interesting, at least to me. And I hope you, dear friend, will find something of value in this, as well.

I inherited a heavy, reinforced black leather case from my father and it has been sitting in my basement, waiting for me to work through the contents.

Really, I needed time to work through the loss before I felt emotionally prepared to deal with whatever I'd find inside.

Among the several pounds of paperwork, genealogical records, and ancient photographs, I found my father's cover letter from 1992.

Not a big deal, right. Everyone has one. They're business-speak documents, not anything of sentimental value. However, these letters are so earnest, they harken back to a time, that, I'm not sure if it existed, truly, or if my father, even at the age of 35, was so open and forthcoming.

I've read thousands of cover letters and only one has moved me. Granted, this is from my late father, but I think, even despite that fact, I'd still find the letter sweet.

At risk of boring you, I will reprint it in parts, below, followed by a final thought or two.

Information for Employment Consideration

Text below

He provides sensitive information in the header, including personal details and the ability to relocate. (We never did)

Volunteer Service: I am in my fifth year with the Volunteer Fire Department. I am department secretary, a lieutenant of the rescue squad, and have received a CPR instructor certificate.

Other interests: I enjoy remodeling our turn-of-the-century house. My wife and I enjoy cross-country skiing, biking, and camping with our kids.

Education: I graduated from High School in 73 with course emphasis on math and sciences, with mechanical drafting as well. I have completed courses in calculus and computer programming with As. I have completed a basic machining course, as well as several firefighting courses and a 20-week EMT course. I have CAD operator's certificate, and plan to continue learning new skills as time permits. As a student in the school of hard knocks, I've picked up quite a few dos and don'ts.

Some projects accomplished: I have written computer programs in basic for manufacturing concerns and for an insurance agency. Laid out an emergency exit plan for a plant and office facility employing over 100. Created a physical and numeric storage/identification system for all press tooling and adaption. Designed secondary machining fixtures.

It concludes with recent work history

He also wrote an addendum (pictured):

I have frequently participated on safety committees as well as with groups formulating company policies and procedures. For one project I laid out emergency exit routes for a plant and office facility employing over 100 people. I have assisted the maintenance department with a preventative maintenance program. As a night supervisor, I learned to do machine repairs via the phone lines at a small company. I installed a numerical and physical storage system for all press tooling and adaption. The system I designed was compatible with a computerized library the tooling engineer wrote. I have written computer programs to assist production and quoting processes. As a part-time machinist, I altered a production lathe process to greatly improve productivity.

My partner and I have successfully assisted Santa Clause with minor assembly projects for the last 10 years. (I did have to consult the directions a few times.)

As a set-up foreman, I enjoyed working with a young tool designer, first to acquaint him with our equipment and second, to discuss the pros and cons of new ideas.

My attitude is to maximize my efforts, support my coworkers' and subordinates' efforts in a complimentary manner, and to achieve the greatest long-term efficiencies from our equipment. All the while performing the duties assigned to me.

I rarely miss work. The last day I missed, about three years ago, I was fighting a hotel fire with our volunteer fire department. In twenty years of predominantly industrial work, I have had no lost time accidents on the job.

I devote one evening a week to our volunteer fire department...

I did a one-year stint as den leader of my son's cub scout group (that's yours truly) when the need arose, but had to give it up due to the demands on my time already. I have enjoyed playing on softball teams when time allowed. Back home I am enjoying remodeling our old farmhouse which we bought six years ago.

When we can, my wife of eleven years and I do some cross-country skiing and camping with our three grade-school-age children. I have also been tinkering with a windmill design which I'd like to build a prototype as time allows.

A Deal

If you provide a challenging and stimulating workload worth thirty to thirty-five thousand dollars annually and family health insurance, I will be up to the challenge to the best of my abilities which I have sincerely displayed. Thank you for taking the time to read this.

Sincerely,

Pat Miller

Ladies and Gentleman, My Father

I'm realizing now that I should have saved this for Father's Day. But June is too long to wait.

Such sincerity certainly exists in the world, however, it's often not prudent to display such forthrightness in job applications today. Honestly, I have little reference if it was wise to do so in the 90s. My experiences of working in the food industry in the late 90s was that there were crummy places to work, but with the right outfit, the willing could receive an opportunity and star performers would be rewarded in some small way.

People have always been people.

I think my dad wanted to find people who shared his values. Ultimately, I believe he did for a time, however, he eventually struck off on his own to make hotshot deliveries around the greater midwest, eastern seaboard, and the south-central United States. He loved the work as it offered an opportunity to visit near and distant family members flung off in diverse places across this vast country.

I know for certain that he raised children who grew to see the honor in his values. Each, in our way, carries on his vision of mankind as a brotherhood.

Whatever your goals, I hope you find your tribe.

If you're looking for a tribe to build and study alongside then say "Hello" in my Discord. We'll be glad to have you join us.

https://discord.gg/Sq2VZSjE

p.s. If you read through the entirety of this letter, thank you. Thank you for allowing me to share a bit about my father with you. Not too long before he journeyed on, he explained the three deaths. The first being of the body, the second of those who were directly acquainted, and the third of those who knew through stories. Thank you for allowing this beautiful man to live on just a little bit longer through the power of our stories.