Before I go to Bed, I Gotta Ask

Before I go to Bed, I Gotta Ask

·

2 min read

Do you ever ask yourself these questions at the end of the day?

  1. What did I accomplish today?

  2. Did I achieve what I set out to do at the beginning of the day?

  3. What could I have done differently to be more productive?

  4. Did I work towards my long-term goals?

  5. What are the three most important tasks for tomorrow?

I'm aware that our society is low-key having an existential conflict over productivity and resisting the machinations of labor.

Our relationship with work is complicated. The broken contracts of trust between owners and labors have frayed confidence in a system that fails to support hard-working people.

However, we seem to extract meaning out of life through our labor. The undertow of conflict with productivity is producing a wave to reform labor. People want to access labor that is meaningful and provides for a life of respect.

The questions above are a path to circumvent the unilateral relationship many people have with their occupation.

By reflecting on these questions an individual gains the ability to critically analyze their day, decide if they are pleased with the outcomes, and take actionable steps to further improve their lot the following day.

For example, today I attended a blockchain event and updated ETH Chicago documentation.

I also planned to work on my project.

Tomorrow, I could write my 4-6 tasks for the day on a piece of paper and set it next to me, rather than relying on a typed list on my monitor. Being able to scratch off each task should be enough to help me focus for the required time.

I didn't do a great deal to work toward my long-term goals. However, at the event tonight, I spoke with a young man about the project I'm working on and he validated my plans and asked a good question that helped me gain further clarity.

Tomorrow, my most important tasks are to do a little research, build a specific feature for my app, and pack for ETH Chicago.

How would you answer the questions today?

Write down your answers. Make a habit of it and with time your ritual will help you take the reigns of your career to lead yourself to heights not yet explored.